St Louis Assault Attorney

Have you been Arrested or Charged for Assault?

Hire a Criminal Defense Attorney that takes your Future as Seriously as YOU do — W. Scott Rose is here to give your case the Undivided Attention it Deserves.

If charged with assault in St. Louis, you’re undoubtedly concerned about your upcoming trial, possible conviction and future livelihood. Rose Legal Services offers immediate and effective defense against all assault charges.

Assault is a serious crime in St. Louis that can result in a lengthy prison sentence, a hefty fine, or both. It can also result in a loss of reputation and a loss of freedom. If you have been charged with assault or you are being investigated for assault, here is some information you need to know.

Types of Missouri Assault Charges

There are essentially four degrees of assault charges in Missouri:

Assault 4th Degree

To convict you of this offense, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant:

  • Attempted to cause or recklessly caused a person’s injury, harm, or illness.
  • Negligently causes bodily harm to another person with a firearm.
  • Threatens a person so that the person feels as though they are at risk of serious bodily injury.
  • Purposely places another person in an environment where there is a risk of immediate physical injury
  • Knowingly causes or attempts to cause contact with another person that can be received as offensive or provocative.

Assault in the fourth degree is considered a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to (1) one year in county jail, and fined up to $2,000.

 

Assault 3rd Degree

To convict you of this offense, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant:

  • Knowingly caused physical injury to another person

Assault in the third degree is considered a Class E felony, which is punishable by up to (4) four years in jail, and a fine of up to $10,000.

If the offense of assault in the third degree involves a “special victim” it is considered a Class D felony. To convict you of this offense, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that:

  • The defendant recklessly caused a physical injury to a law enforcement officer, corrections officer, emergency personnel, highway worker in a construction zone or work zone, utility worker, cable worker, probation or parole officer, elderly person, a disabled person, or other vulnerable persons.

Assault in the third degree involving a special victim is considered a Class D felony, which is punishable by up to (7) seven years in jail, and a fine of up to $10,000.

 

Assault 2nd Degree

To convict you of this offense, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant:

  • Attempted to kill or knowingly caused serious injury to another person while “under the influence of a sudden passion arising out of an adequate cause.”
  • Attempted to cause or knowingly caused physical injury to another person with a deadly weapon.
  • Recklessly caused serious physical injury to another person.
  • Recklessly caused physical injury to another person by discharging a firearm.

Assault in the second degree is considered a Class D felony, punishable by up to (7) seven years in prison, and a fine of up to $10,000.

If the offense of assault in the second degree involves a “special victim” it is considered a Class B felony. Punishable by a minimum of (5) five to a maximum of (15) fifteen years in prison.

 

Assault 1st Degree

First degree is the most serious of assault charges and occurs when a defendant:

  • Attempts to kill another person.
  • Knowingly causes serious physical injury to another person.

Assault in the first degree is considered a Class B felony, the maximum penalty is (15) fifteen years in prison. A minimum of 85% of the prison sentence must be served in order to be eligible for parole.

If the offense of assault in the first degree involves a “special victim” it is considered a Class A felony. Punishable by a minimum of (10) ten to a maximum of (30) thirty years in prison, or life imprisonment.

 

What to Do After Being Charged With Assault in St. Louis

Even misdemeanor assault charges can have serious consequences on your life and can impact your ability to go to college, to get a job, or even to secure housing. Second and first-degree assault charges carry a high risk of lengthy prison sentences. You are likely to be arrested and processed into jail immediately upon being charged and will be given a bail hearing in which you must show that you do not pose a threat to the public if you are released on bail to await your trial at home.

If you have been charged with assault, the first thing you need to do is contact an experienced St. Louis assault attorney. The sooner you have an attorney hired, the better he or she will be able to ensure that your civil rights are upheld through the arrest, processing, and investigatory processes.

Some of the other services that your criminal offense attorney can provide include:

  • Guidance as to the legal options that are available to you.
  • An attempt to get the case dismissed based on the improper procedure during the investigation or arrest.
  • Skilled negotiation with the prosecutor in order to get the charges against you reduced, which will also reduce the consequences you face.
  • Representation of your case at all pre-trial conferences and hearings.
  • Compiling and organizing evidence and witness statements that can be used to prove your innocence.
  • Litigation of your case in court, including the delivery of opening and closing statements, presenting evidence, and examining witnesses.
  • Continued representation if you are convicted and wish to file an appeal.

Between your finances, your reputation, and your freedoms, there is a lot on the line for those who have been charged with assault in Missouri.

ST. LOUIS ASSAULT ATTORNEY

If you’ve been wrongfully accused or made a mistake… Take legal action today. Rose Legal Services exclusively defends clients against criminal defense and assault charges in St. Louis County, St. Louis City, and surrounding areas. With nearly 20 years of experience rest assured we will work tirelessly & aggressively to defend you in the court of law.

  • Immediate & Effective Representation
  • Flat Fee Criminal Law Firm
  • Get The UNDIVIDED ATTENTION Your Case Needs
  • Take Legal Action TODAY
  • All Cases Begin With A FREE Consultation

You must retain a St. Louis assault attorney as soon as possible to help protect your freedom. Whether this is a first-time offense or you’ve been charged before, we can help you get the best possible results in your assault case — Start building your case today with a free consultation.

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have been charged with assault, you always have the right to fight the charges in court. Your criminal defense attorney will work to get the charges dismissed or to prove your innocence.

First-degree assault charges are more serious than second-degree assault charges. The difference between the two mainly comes down to intent. If the person who committed the assault intended to do harm to the other party, they may be charged with first-degree assault.

Assault is when one person knowingly acts in a way that causes actual physical harm to another or causes them to fear that they will suffer actual physical harm.

The State accused me of 3 felonies that someone else committed. I hired Scott, and he got the charges dismissed!

Scott, have helped me throughout this whole process mentally. You are really amazing – I thank you so much for helping me!

Mr. Rose really helped me out with a difficult situation. He was great to work with and worked hard to get me a good outcome. I would definitely recommend him to others.